Down at Ala Moana Park

“The best camera to shoot with is the one you have with you.”

I’m not really sure who said this first, but it’s a great piece of advice. It’s one of the reasons I’m making an effort to bring my Nikon with me everywhere this month. So last Thursday I headed out to Ala Moana park, with the intention of grabbing some sunset pictures. I’m at the park every Thursday night for a Ultimate conditioning practice, and I always wish I had a camera with me.

The mile long park is part grass, part beach and situated right next to the city and right before Honolulu turns into Waikiki. Every Thursday I watch the sun go down, leaving soft trails over the beach and on the city’s skyline and wish I had my Nikon with me.

Well, I didn’t end up getting sunset pictures. Practice went to late, and it was dark by the time we finished. But I did get something unexpected.

Arial acrobatics classes. Where else, but Hawaii, can you expect to find this sort class being done at the local park?

0307HON.0002_v2

0307HON.0028_v2

0307HON.0043_v2

There was something very serene about watching them practice their routines, in the calm of the park. I was almost disappointed when it was time to leave for Ultimate. And it was great practice for shooting on aperture priority mode!

There are just a few of the shots I got. A full gallery of shots can be found here.

-Bridget

Leave a Reply

