March Photography Challenge

I’m posing two challenges for myself for March.

The first is to bring my camera with me everywhere I go. I have a bad habit of only bringing the camera with me if I’m on a planned photography outing. Considering it’s really not that large, and has a battery life that lasts forever this seems like a waste of a fairly expensive piece of equipment as well as some unexpected photography opportunities. Just last night I was standing on the brink of the beach and the city watching the sun set and wishing I had my camera with me to capture both images. On one side the sun falling below the ocean, and on the other Honolulu as it lights went on for night fall. Next week I won’t make the same mistake!

The second is Life with my 3 Barbarians‘ “31 Days to a Better Photo” challenge. I’ve only read through a few of the exercises, so I guess we’ll see if it really does improve my photography. I shoot in aperture or shutter priority sometimes, but I avoid manual like the plague. I’m hoping this will help me feel more confident in my control over settings.

The challenge for Day 1 is simple. Take a picture. Since Kaie enjoys being a ham for the camera, I figured I might as well put her to good use!

0301SAL.0009_v2

 

-Bridget

Leave a Reply

