My new kitchen cheat

My new kitchen cleaning cheat: baking soda. Anyone else discovered this one yet?

Cooking in a new oven always comes with some trial and error. In my case I’ve burnt two meals to my baking sheet this last week – cinnamon buns and mini pizza buns. It’s one of those insult to injury things. Not only did I burn the cinnabuns and make them virtually inedible, but then I had to spend an hour scrubbing the pan. Then I did it all over again with the mini pizzas!

As a teenager I would give up after about 10 minutes of scrubbing and resort to S.O.S. But that was when the parents were doing the cooking, buying and I wasn’t too concerned about scrubbing all the non-stick off the baking pans. Now I see it under a slightly different light, but after 10 minutes of scrubbing and no apparent progress I was definitely getting frustrated.

That’s when I remembered a completely unrelated article I’d read the other day (on home made teeth whinter) about baking soda cleaning anything and everything.

Why not? Totally worth a try.

So I sprinkled baking soda on the pan and kept scrubbing. I was pleasantly surprised with how well it worked. It worked best when the pan was only damp, and I was scrubbing without the water running. I think it might actually work better than S.O.S., but without the side effect of taking the non-stick surface off. Best weekend find, by far!

Anyone have other good kitchen cleaning cheats?

-Bridget

One thought on “My new kitchen cheat

  1. White vinegar for greasy stuff. If you’re out of baking soda, coarse salt does a decent approximation. And, for the mid-level between baking soda and S.O.S, a small ball of tin foil works surprisingly well. (To find out all of this the hard way, burn potatoes into your baking pan over…and over…and over…)

Leave a Reply

