AcoW: Sharing is Caring

Advertising Campaign of the Week: Sharing is Caring by Coca Cola.

I adore advertising campaigns by Coca Cola. They’re always doing something big, interesting and social. When I saw this on Creative Criminals, I knew I had to post it.

So what do I love about this campaign? Coca Cola is a master of two things. (1) branded identity, and (2) social campaigns. A look at their past advertising shows that they are consistently coming up with ideas that both tie together and encourage people to share with other people. What do I mean by that?

Consider these other two campaigns that they’ve run in recent years:

Although these are different campaigns, the common thread is obvious. Sharing, friendship, happiness, etc. Every move Coca-Cola makes is strategically designed to reinforce their brand image, and can be deployed across multiple countries and cultures with very few changes. Take it from me, no matter how easy Coca-Cola makes it look, it’s hard to find themes that can translate consistently across time and culture.

It’s probably worth mentioning that I’ve been a Coke brand loyalist since I was 10-year-old caffeine addict. Even though I’ve more or less given up soda, I still love the brand. I can’t help it! Something about the feeling of a Coke in my hand will always say lazy summer days, late nights writing essays, and sneaking a treat after school.

What do you think of Coke’s advertising? Do you love it as much as I do, or are you a (shudder) Pepsi person?

-Bridget

5 thoughts on “AcoW: Sharing is Caring

  1. Hmm it seems like your blog ate my first comment (it was super long) so I guess I’ll just sum it up what I had written and say, I’m thoroughly enjoying your blog. I as well am an aspiring blog blogger but I’m still new to the whole thing. Do you have any suggestions for rookie blog writers? I’d definitely appreciate it.

    • Honestly, I’m a rookie blogger myself, but I’m flattered you asked! I’m sure this is advice you’ve found elsewhere, but it works for me: I write about what interests me, try to visit and reply to everyone who stops in to my blogs, and read/comment/follow as many interesting new blogs as I can find. When I first started I was really worried about what other people would think and finding topics that would engage other bloggers (who are ultimately strangers before they visit your blog). It really stilted my writing and made it not fun, so I stopped worrying so much about followers and started enjoying myself instead 🙂

  2. Pingback: AAAND….. for this week’s advertising campaign of the week… | Branded

Leave a Reply

